Vein Melter - Limited Edition 12" Vinyl

from Vein Melter

Shipping now!!! Personally autographed, limited edition 12" vinyl, with gorgeous original artwork by designer Roland leFox.

A1. Chameleon 05:09
A2. Watermelon Man 4:38

B1. Sly 4:59
B2. Vein Melter 5:21

Includes download of Vein Melter EP in high-quality 320kbps MP3, lossless FLAC, or WAV format.


"Tasty and super funky! Serious head bobber; all over this!"
— Anthony Valadez, KCRW

"The Vein Melter EP is an incredible futuristic interpretation of some classic jazz and soul tunes. A real pleasure to listen to, whether in the club or on my headphones. Salute."
— Rich Medina

"Herbie Hancock's classic Head Hunters album just got respectfully and tastefully kicked 4 decades into the future. Beautiful arrangements, instrumentation and head-nodding beats — love it!"
— Opolopo

"The fusion of soul, funk and jazz has never sounded so fresh."
— Manchildblack

The “Vein Melter” EP sees two acclaimed New York music makers, Jesse Fischer and Sly5thAve, joining forces to cover four tracks from Herbie Hancock’s seminal jazz funk album ‘Head Hunters’, paying homage to the contemporary, crowd-pleasing spirit of the originals and reframing these incredible pieces for the dance music fans of today. Snapped up for a limited (300) edition 12” vinyl and download release by Tru Thoughts, “Vein Melter” has already gained a strong seal of approval on both sides of the Atlantic, with early support from Gilles Peterson (BBC 6Music) as well as KCRW’s Jeremy Sole and Anthony Valadez, to add to worldwide blog buzz.

Jazz school alumnus Sly5thAve, whose prowess as a horn player and arranger has seen him tour with artists including Prince, Taylor Swift and Quantic, released his acclaimed debut album ‘Akuma’ last year and also leads his own live band The ClubCasa Chamber Orchestra. Multi-instrumentalist, producer, engineer and computer science boffin Jesse Fischer has made a name for himself via production for artists across the jazz, hip hop and singer-songwriter scenes, as well as his own album projects and tours with pop artists including Laura Izibor, Ryan Shaw and Freddie Jackson.

Jesse Fischer: Rhodes electric piano, Hohner Clavinet II, Hammond B-3, Juno 106, Moog Little Phatty, Yamaha TX-816, Native Instruments Massive, drum programming, and percussion

Sly5thAve: tenor and bari saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet, and flute

Jaime Woods: vocals and vocal arrangement (B2)
Jonathan Powell: trumpet (A1)
Jay Jennings: trumpet (A2)
Nick Marchione: trumpet (B1, B2)
Todd Simon: trumpet (B2 outro)
Kevin Moehringer: trombone (A1, B1, B2)
Irwin Hall: soprano saxophone (A2, B1)
David Cutler: bass (A2)
Evan Marien: bass (B1)

Produced and arranged by Jesse Fischer and Sly5thAve.
Engineered and mixed by Jesse Fischer at Electrik Indigo Studios, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Vein Melter outro engineered by Todd Simon at Nu-Fi Studio, Van Nuys, C.A.
Mastered by Tim Rowkins at Hell Yeah Mastering, Brighton, U.K.

Cover photograph by Dennis Manuel.
Artwork by Roland LeFox.

© Tru Thoughts 2015 ℗ Tru Thoughts 2015

ships out within 7 days
edition of 250 

  $15 USD or more 


More merch from Vein Melter

  1. Vein Melter Helvetica Tee


    $20 USD

  2. Vein Melter Logo Tee


    $20 USD


Vein Melter Brooklyn, New York

contact / help

Contact Vein Melter

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code